Molyneux House is a three-story nineteenth-century building with an annex. It was lying vacant before purchase and conversion for use as apartments. Best conservation practise is followed throughout the development. It was formerly in institutional use as a residence for the blind, and subsequently, as a nursing home that closed in 2012.
The site has a stated area of 2,700 square metres. The house is on the east side of Leeson Park in Dublin, on the grounds of Christ Church. It is a protected structure RPS Ref. 4348.
Architect Rawson Carroll designed Molyneux House in 1860. His drawing was the winning entry in an architectural competition to design an asylum for blind females and an associated Christ Church. Construction of the building was completed in 1880.
The Irish Builder Magazine described Molyneux House as follows “a handsome building in the Tudor Gothic style of plain character with high-pitched roofs and gables, and dormer and mullioned windows. Granite is the material used, the window and door dressing being chiselled, and the general face of the walls of hammered stone.”
Timeless Sash Windows are the main contractors for the windows and doors in accordance with best conservation practise.
We refurbished a total of 74 windows and 301 sashes. Additionally, we replaced 1 full new window to match the originals and refurbished 5 doors.
We also refurbished 1 internal roof light above the lift shaft and 1 pitched rooflight to apartment no. 10.
The windows were predominantly pitch pine. We preserved all historic glass where possible. Additionally, there was dry rot around some windows, which we had to completely remove for sub-contractors to repair the rot before we reinstated the original frames and windows.
Furthermore, we carried out remedial works on the shutters to ensure they were all operational. In some instances where there were missing elements, we fabricated them to match the originals.
Timeless Sash Windows, 8th April 2022